Question about the Av-Matoran on Spherus Magna?

Will Av-Matoran continue to turn into Bohrok after the evacuation of the Great Spirit Robot?

1 Like

I would doubt it, seeing as they have no purpose, but then again, I’m new to Bionicle’s vast story, so I don’t really know…

1 Like

It wouldn’t have any purpose indeed, however Umbra is still inclined to guard the Ignika, the Bohrok will remain dormant in their nests, etc etc. Will the Av-Matoran be able to subvert their programming, even when their programming is no longer purposeful?

Unless I’m mistaken, turning into Bohrok is Av-Matoran anatomy, and will continue to turn into Bohrok at death, regardless of location.
Edit: After some research, Av matoran only turn into Bohrok at death if it is their destiny to do so. I would assume the above still applies, but likely much less often.

2 Likes

Personally, I don’t think they would, because:

• There have been multiple instances in the story that have more or less proven that the Matoran concept of destiny is actually quite fluid and not entirely set in stone. For example, Nidhiki was destined to be a Toa, but eventually became a Dark Hunter after trying to sell out Metru Nui.
  • Despite being fairly large, the Bohrok Nest still possesses a finite amount of space, so it would really only make sense for the transformation to occur if there was a need to replenish their numbers. In other words, provided that it’s already at full capacity (which is currently unknown since the GSR was actually launched in a rushed state of incompletion, forcing certain things to be constructed on the go), it then stands to reason that some would need to be destroyed first in order for it to happen.